Rajya Sabha Election: Voting for Rajya Sabha polls on, close competition in 4 states: 10 points


Surveys by Rajya Sabha: The maximum number of seats, 11, is in Uttar Pradesh.

New Delhi:
Elections are held today to fill 16 vacant seats in the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of parliament. 41 candidates were unanimously elected. The Rajya Sabha election is crucial in view of the forthcoming presidential elections in July.

Here are the top 10 updates to this great story:

  1. The election is for 16 seats in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Haryana.

  2. The 57 vacant seats are spread across 15 states. Of these, the BJP held 23 seats and eight were held by Congress. The rest was split between the other parties.

  3. The fiercest fighting is expected in opposition-ruled states like Rajasthan and Maharashtra, where both sides have locked up their MLAs in resorts to deter poaching.

  4. The maximum seats, 11, are in Uttar Pradesh. Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu follow with six seats each.

  5. Five seats from Bihar, four each from Karnataka, Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha were also vacant.

  6. Also vacant are two seats each from Punjab, Jharkhand, Haryana, Chhattisgarh and Telangana and one seat from Uttarakhand.

  7. Among the candidates are Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman and Piyush Goyal, Congressmen Randeep Surjewala, Jairam Ramesh and Mukul Wasnik, and Shiv Sena’s Sanjay Raut.

  8. In Maharashtra – where elections are held for Rajya Sabha after two decades – the ruling alliance of Shiv Sena, Congress and Sharad Pawar’s NCP finds itself in a difficult position after its arrested MLAs were denied voting bail.

  9. The BJP has managed to surpass 100 in the House of Lords, becoming the first party since 1990 to do so. Still, the election is expected to help her shore up her numbers ahead of the presidential election.

  10. Jammu and Kashmir has been under Presidential rule since 2017, when the last presidential election was held. Three other states – Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Tamil Nadu – are under opposition control.


About Author

Comments are closed.