MLB Manager of the Year 2021: Rays’ Kevin Cash Takes AL Honor; Giants’ gift Kapler wins NL Award


Major League Baseball presents its four top awards this week, voted on by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). On Monday we determined the winners of the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year. The Cy Young Awards take place on Wednesday and Thursday is the main event with the announcement of the AL and NL MVP winners. The Manager of the Year winners were announced on Tuesday.

Two voters from each chapter in each respective league voted for the top three in a system that gives five points for first place, three points for second, and one point for third.

In the National League, Giants skipper Gabe Kapler won in a blowout manner. This is his first win and he comes in his fourth season, second in the Giants. The path to victory is easy for Kapler to see here. Almost no one believed the Giants would even compete this season. Your total winnings on games of chance over / under in March was 73.5. They won a franchise record of 107 games. Kapler received 28 of the 30 votes for first place, one vote for second place and was completely left out with a ballot.

Brewers manager Craig Counsell finished second after leading them to 95 wins and their second division title in four years. He did so with an offense that averaged 14th in the NL and 11th in OPS. As always, he was brilliant at managing his pitching team throughout the season. Counsel received one vote for first place, 22 votes for second place, and four votes for third place.

Former Cardinals manager Mike Shildt checks in here in third place after encountering the second wildcard late in the season, including a 17-game winning streak. He received one vote for first place, three votes for second place and 11 votes for third place.

World Series Champion Braves manager Brian Snitker finished fourth. I had an NL vote and wish we had started the postseason, in which case I would have liked to have voted for Snitker. Unfortunately it is a regular season price and our votes have to be cast before the start of the playoffs, so post-season performance cannot be taken into account. Snitker received four votes for second place and nine votes for third place. Dave Roberts was the other manager to join the board and get six votes in third place.

In the American League, Rays manager Kevin Cash won his second manager of the year in a row. Cash led the club to 100 wins – a franchise record – with his Rays working on a tight budget and continuing to convert the roster faster than any other team. He always adapts and leads the team with apparent ease. They took the top seed in a loaded AL despite having three more 90-plus wins in their division. Cash received 19 votes for first place, three votes for second place, and five votes for third place.

This marked the first time in AL history that a manager had received the honor two years in a row.

Mariners manager Scott Servais finished second. The Mariners didn’t make the playoffs, but they were getting damn close to baseball’s longest playoff drought. They finished two games 90-72 in a season most expected to finish fourth in the AL West. Again, we’re going to use the gambling odds to illustrate the overachievement in terms of expectations. The Mariners number was 71.5 so they destroyed it. Servais received five votes for first place.

Dusty Baker finishes third after winning a division title with his fifth record team. Even after losing George Springer to the free agency and missing Justin Verlander (Tommy John Operation), the Astros won 95 games. Recall that this was the first season they faced street fans after the news of the sign theft scandal broke out. They also won the AL pennant, but the postseason is not included here. Baker received two votes for first place.

Blue Jays manager Charlie Montoyo actually received three votes for first place, but only two votes for second place and two votes for third place. Red Sox manager Alex Cora also took first place but finished fifth. Tony La Russa finished sixth and Tiger’s manager AJ Hinch took three votes for third and finished seventh.

Here is the full breakdown of the AL and NL votes on the BBWAA official website.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.