Crosby’s PJ Haggerty wins the Guy V. Lewis Award for the Houston Area’s Best Basketball Player


PJ Haggerty has been virtually unstoppable all season.

Now the 6ft 3 Senior Guard has some hardware to show for it.

Haggerty was announced Tuesday night on the University of Houston campus as a recipient of the 11th annual Guy V. Lewis Award, receiving the honor of Houston-area boys’ basketball player of the year.

Haggerty led Crosby back to regional championship play for the first time in 43 years. The Cougars eventually failed at eventual champions Beaumont United.

The TCU signee averaged 28 points, 6.8 rebounds, 4.3 assists and 2.7 steals per game while shooting 49 percent on 2-point attempts and 41 percent from behind the arc.

Other finalists for the award included Shadow Creek Senior Cam Amboree, Stratford Junior Keanu Dawes, Elkins Junior Chris Johnson, Washington Junior Kenneth Lewis, Marshall Junior Jaland Lowe, Cypress Falls Senior Jesaiah McWright, Cypress Ranch Senior Dubem Muoneke, Foster Senior Chancellor White and Westfield Senior Willie Williams.

Previous award winners include Rasheed Sulaimon (Strake Jesuit, 2012), Aaron Harrison (Travis, 2013), Justise Winslow (St. John’s, 2014), Galen Robinson (Westbury Christian, 2015), De’Aaron Fox (Cypress Lakes, 2016), Nigel Hawkins (Cypress Falls, 2017), Quentin Grimes (College Park, 2018), Kharee McDaniel (Klein Forest, 2019), Tramon Mark (Dickinson, 2020) and Ramon Walker (Shadow Creek, 2021).

Lewis, for whom the award is named, led Houston’s basketball program to 27 consecutive seasons with 14 trips to the NCAA tournament. His teams reached the Final Four five times (1967, 1968, 1982, 1983, 1984) and played in two national title fights (1983, 1984). He ended his career with 592 wins.

Lewis was inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame in 2007 and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013. He died in 2015 at the age of 93.


About Author

Comments are closed.