Businessman Steve Attkins is contesting the 2022 federal election as an independent | Port Macquarie News


news, breaking news, steve attkins, federal election, 2022, independent, lyne

The May 21 vote is probably the most important election in Australian history, says Lyne Independent candidate Steve Attkins. Mr Attkins said the country is at a crossroads politically, as are the people about where we are going as a country. “That’s reflected in Lyne’s seat,” he said. Lyne’s federal electorate covers more than 16,000 square miles and includes the cities of Bonny Hills, Bulahdelah, Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Gresford, Harrington, Hawks Nest, Lake Cathie, Laurieton, Nabiac, North Haven, Old Bar, Paterson and Smiths Lake , Stroud, Taree and Wauchope. Mr Attkins said we need to change the national discourse. The businessman and community lawyer lives in Wootton, north of Bulahdelah, and owns the Great Lakes Paddocks tourism destination. He has a background in economic development and community involvement, which includes serving on the Dundaloo Disability Support Services Board and the Manning Base Hospital Community Board. Mr Attkins, who has previously contested state and federal elections, says we need change. “I have no political affiliation … we have to look at politics,” he said. He has held political positions on issues such as climate change, climate protection, elderly care, taxation, affordable housing and national disaster relief. Mr Attkins has met with Dungog Shire Council, with meetings planned with Port Stephens Council and MidCoast Council to understand their needs and requirements. Talking to companies and knocking on the door of companies are also part of his campaign approach. The feedback shows that employees are struggling, the pandemic has been difficult, there are infrastructure issues and a lack of cell phone coverage. Voters will go to the ballot box on May 21st. The candidates fighting for Lyne’s seat are Joanne Pearce (Independent), Joel Putland (United Australia Party), David Gillespie (National Party), Alexander Simpson (Labour Party), Steve Attkins (Independent), Mark Hornshaw (Liberal Democratic Party), Josephine Cashman (Pauline Hanson’s One Nation) and Karl Attenborough (Australian Greens). Our journalists work hard to bring local, breaking news to the community. To continue accessing our trusted content: Bookmark our site Make sure you’re signed up for our newsletters for current and regular headlines You can support us by subscribing Follow us on Twitter: @portmacnews Follow Follow us on Instagram: @portmacnews Follow us on Google News



About Author

Comments are closed.